Installing The Fascinator on Ubuntu 9.04

Today I attempted to install the Fascinator on Ubuntu 9.04.

The Fascinator is a software platform for eResearch. Development started in 2008 as an attempt to create a clean and usable Institutional Repository user interface.

from: http://fascinator.usq.edu.au/

I first get the documentation from: http://fascinator.usq.edu.au/documentation/installation/Easy_Install_The_Fascinator.htm#id6

To install,

1. I download the installer.sh file from the server.

2. Then I made it executable by running chmod a+x install.sh

3. Run the installer: sudo ./install.sh

4. The installer will ask for install directory, passwords, and proxy.

Then I leave it running, while getting a coffee 🙂

When I came back, I have the fascinator running. It’s so good!

Leave a Reply

