Get current timestamp with mckoi

Today I have been playing around with mckoi database. In MySQL, there’s a NOW() function. This function simply returns the current timestamp. However, mckoi doesn’t have this function but I need it! This is what I did to get the current timestamp:

SELECT DATEFORMAT(DATEOB(), ‘yyyy-mm-dd HH:mm:ss’)

Just to be a little bit more paranoid, I set this function as a default value for my timestamp column, when I created a database. This is the syntax that I’m using:

CREATE TABLE myTable (

myTimestampColumn timestamp DEFAULT DATEFORMAT(DATEOB(), ‘yyyy-mm-dd HH:mm:ss’) not null
)

This is very helpful because during insertion, there’s no need to put an extra effort to manage myTimestampColumn. Everything is done automatically.

Leave a Reply

