Free up spaces on Ubuntu machine

This is a follow up post after upgrading the ubuntu on my eeepc. I found that I only have a few hundred megabytes left on my netbook. The space can be checked by running a command: df

Of course, I’m a nerd. I love using Terminal — nah not really. It’s just that from time to time I always find myself struggling with finding the buttons that I want. So, I perfer using the commandline way of doing things.

Ok, let’s go back to our topic of freeing up some spaces. Firstly, I cleaned apt cache by running this command:

sudo apt-get autoclean

But, that’s not really enough so I did:

sudo rm -rf /var/cache/apt/archives/*.deb

This line is used to remove the unnecessary files that we don’t need after installation.

Then I removed everything from /tmp because I believe that it’s under /tmp, which mean temporary. I should be able to remove it without any problem. (Please don’t trust me entirely lol)

sudo rm -rf /tmp/*

Then I removed a few applications that I have never used to save a few hundred megabytes, such as, thunderbird, evolution, games and so on. Most applications can be removed by:

sudo apt-get autoremove APPLICATION NAME

For example, sudo apt-get autoremove evolution.

At the end I’m pretty happy with the result and nothing has crashed yet, which is great. Please feel free to try it and let me know how happy you are when getting a few hundreds MBs back.

Leave a Reply

